Review: Ke$ha – Animal

27 Feb

Who knew I would get this? Well, I don’t know much about Ke$ha so I’m learning as I go. At work we have a TV that shows music channels all day but with the sound off so I’d heard of Ke$ha but has no idea what it sounded like. And did I want to hear it? Did I bawls. She looks like a Britney Spears clone with the attitude of Pink! Except half as real.

On first impression of course.

Except Ke$ha’s album has now knocked off Susan Boyle’s from the top of the USA Billboard. Now that to me makes me sit up and take notice. I mean, we all know there are thousands of idiots who just listen to what’s in the charts or buy their music based upon the appearance of the artist in Heat magazine, so Susan Boyle being number 1 surprises nobody as she won’t fucking go away. However, I’d never even fucking HEARD of Ke$ha so to see the album go number 1 meant I had to check it out. As is now compulsory, this is a once through listen so I’ll review as I check it out for the first ever time.

Your Love Is My Drug

Ooh nice synth. Hmm, her voice is a little grating, oh dear lyrics are pretty rubbishy and- wait! Fucking hell that is a chorus. Oh man, this is like really fucking good. Now she’s singing about lovesick crackheads. Lovely autotune use here. Not extreme just enough to bash it into perfection. Horrifically fake the whole song but compared to the usual pop shit we gets shoved in our faces.

TiK ToK

Right, this is the single. Eek, bad use of auto-tune. This kinda reminds me of Pink! This is outrageous. This is basically Daft Punk with pop vocals thrown on. I’m not even joking it fucking is. I am genuinely stunned by the production on this album. All these solo artists like Madonna have tried to blend dance tunes and pop vocals but this is the only album I’ve heard that actually doesn’t hold back on the production. Usually they tone the beats down – not here though!

Take It Off
Okay, this is Daft Punk now. Autotune is full effect now on the verse. Sounds kinda like Womaniser by Britney. WTF, the lyrics! WTF! WTF!  This song is about gloryholes. I’m not even kidding. The chorus appears to be:

There’s a place down town where the freaks all come around
It’s a hole in the wall, it’s a dirty free-for-all
And they – Turn Me On
When they – Take It Off
There’s place I know, if you’re looking for a show
Where they go hardcore and there’s glitter on the floor
And they – Turn Me On
When they – Take It Off

I have to reassess Safe Search Is Off lyrics now. If you can get away with songs about gloryholes and get to #1 in the USA I need to write ruder lyrics! Already this album has had the three best fucking chorus’ I’ve heard this year. And they’ve been on the last three songs in a row. OMG.

So many times I’m left disappointed by pop albums not reaching their potential. Yes, this is Britney/Christina/whoever and there’s nothing particular amazing about any of the songs however they are all so well produced the potential of each one has been maximised.

Stephen
Ah, this must be the ballad. Oh, no wait, it kinda is but she’s doing a Marilyn Manson impression through the middle section and again the chorus is so catchy. Again, this is just good.

Blah Blah Blah
God she has a really punchable face and her stupid lyrics are making me really fucking angry. But it’s still the best album I’ve heard this year. Oh my god, the middle section of this song where the guy starts rapping is basically the music from Lemmings.

Guys and girls I can’t do this. This album is totally fucking good and not even in an ironic way. I have a rule that if I’ve downloaded something that turns out to be good I buy it. So that’s the end of the review. The first six tracks are classic perfect pop produced like great dance tunes with sleazy lyrics. That’s all you need to know and I’m off to buy it now.

Score: 10/10

*edit:  Here’s me after making my brother buy me the record for my birthday. His opinion differs from mine.*

One Response to “Review: Ke$ha – Animal”

  1. Fran:) November 23, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    I like this album! Hungover the best song. youresocute!

Leave a Reply

